I’m on a boat!

For our farewell dinner, we boarded a private yacht and went on a tour of the Bosphorus. Majority of the group sat on the upper level to enjoy the fresh air and to watch the scenery. Since I am actually afraid of water, I sat huddled in a corner downstairs near the life jackets. In honor of that experience, I wrote a song titled I’m on a boat. Lyrics below.

Our destination was a restaurant known for its seafood and raki pairings. The table was set with delicious baskets of bread, but apparently the waiters determined that we were not mature enough for that responsibility. Not more than 30 seconds later, they whisked the bread away and decided to serve us one roll at a time.

The appetizers were light, but very creamy. First was a dish similar to baba ganoush, but with chunkier bits of eggplant. Then came a fish dish with long and thin cuts of a whitefish. Burcu, our TA, only knew the Turkish name for it so I can only make an educate guess. It was coated in a creamy sauce with peppercorns, a little mayo, some vinegar flavors. We had steamed mussels served with shells stuffed full of rice. The next dish what looked like a wide, flat, clay pot. Tomatoes, mushrooms, and something similar to crayfish were simmered in a fantastic broth and covered with melted cheese.

By the time our main course came, I was stuffed. Fish kebabs with tender, perfectly cooked fish “medallions”. The fish had a nice sear on the outside and peppers, tomatoes, and lemon had been cooked between each piece. Side dishes included a roasted tomato half, small serving of rice, lemon, and some cilantro.

Anchal had organized a gift for the professor and our graduate assistant. The two of them really did make this trip an amazing and unforgettable experience. After many toasts and cheers and laughing and quoting Arrested Development, the evening drew to an end.

A few of us are on our way to Bodrum now, a beautiful coastal city known for its beaches. Have no fear, I’ll continue to blog. Next topic: our CRAZY final presentation.

I’m on a boat (preview)

I’m on a boat, I’m on a boat
Everybody look at me
‘Cause I’m scared and on a boat
I’m on a boat, I’m on a boat
Take a good hard look
At this crazy Turkey boat

I’m on a boat because water cannot hold the bus
Straight flowing on a boat on the Bosphorus
Eating doner, too fat need a new coat
You can’t stop me IRPers, ’cause I’m on a boat

Take a picture, snap, I’m on a boat, trick
Drinking Dramamine ’cause I’m getting seasick

I’m saving the rest for the music video debut.

Leave a Reply

